Pink Envelopes of Joy

I think this is a great idea, but everyone else thinks I’m going to get arrested.

That’s right; it’s what it says on the tin.

Pink Envelopes of Joy are little messages of friendly encouragement or wisdom, posted to your doormat. Not particularly original or radical, but nice nonetheless. I hope.

Pink Envelopes of Joy

Go forth! My little messengers of YAY!

As part of generally becoming more awesome, I felt I should spread more happiness and this seemed like a good idea. There are only nine in circulation at the moment, but I have disassembled the tenth envelope that came in the pack to use as the template to clone more. The sacrificial lamb, or sheep, as such.

I say nine, two are still burning a hole in my coat pocket – I’ve been keeping them on me in case I come across opportune letterboxes, but it’s surprisingly difficult.

So where have I been dropping these cheery notes?

  • Houses, not flats
    I didn’t want to abandon them on the shared doormats of shared accommodation, in case everyone glances at it and no one picks it up.
  • Open spaces
    I’ve placed a couple in public spaces, in spots where I think someone might actually go so far as to open something not addressed to them.
  • On the person
    I did even consider slipping them into the open bags or pockets on the commute to work. I haven’t carried this out though, as it might be rather awkward if I’m caught pink-handed as it were. And the finder might feel somewhat violated if they discover a message on their person, evidencing a stranger’s hands inside their property.

The messages inside the cards range from snippets of poetry to quotes of sageliness.

  • I have been warned about careful wording for an unknown audience
    e.g., “DO IT. Today!” opened by a suicidal depressive.
  • I have been warned about breaking up marriages
    e.g., “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art more lovely and more temperate.” opened by a jealous husband.
  • I have also been warned about raising false hopes
    e.g., “I think you are BEE-YOO-TI-FUL.” opened by a lonely heart.

I have carefully considered these warnings. I still think the Pink Envelopes of Joy are a worthy project. Originally, I was going to leave a link to this blog on the back, but was advised that this was too self-promotional. As such, I sincerely hope they are bringing joy out there, and not chaos or death, but have no means of knowing. Ever.

What do you think? Good idea? Or weird creepiness? Look I discovered I can make a poll – vote below to check it works!

4 thoughts on “Pink Envelopes of Joy

  1. I think this is utterly lovely, and I know another blogger who would definitely approve (Cheryl at http://www.makemejoyful.com) 🙂 I also think you should definitely put your blog address on the back – another friend of mine made bags and left them all over Bristol, then had a tea party picnic for the people who responded to her once they’d picked on up 🙂 Gorgeous idea, and it would certainly perk up my day!
    (I’m Carla from Ducking Fabulous and Ink Drops, and found you via Jenny, but I never quite know which blog the comments will say I’m commenting from!) xx

    • And, can I just say, what a brilliant idea with the tea party for the respondents! Love it! So inspiring 🙂

    • Hurray! Ahh what a lovely comment! Thank you! 🙂 I love your blog btw your rollerskating looks awesome! Today I had the delicious thrill of actually watching someone find and open a pink envelope!! I couldn’t see their face so I’m not sure what their reaction was (dang blast!) but if they had looked up they would have seen me grinning madly at them! Thanks for the encouragement, I’ll maybe put my blog address on the next batch! Xx

  2. Pingback: Be Open To Joy Always | The Zen of Dr. Bob

Leave a Reply

