Inspired by a general air of mad genius: Kate Bush

Image

Who me? These lips say nuh-uh.

I’ve been thinking about Kate Bush a lot.

I’ve spent some time thinking about her before, but now I’m back on the topic.

Babooshka was on a homemade mixed CD in a friend’s car on the way back from a wedding, and – well what is there to say? It’s a brilliant song. Mental, but brilliant. (I’d like that to appear on my epitaph)

This then led to some prolonged ear-soaking in Bush – I think I’ve probably listened to Wuthering Heights around 60 times in the last week.

I just love her. She’s like some crazy genius psychotic fairy, prancing weightlessly through time, fiercely floating, barking mad. Inspiring.

Wikipedia tells me KB was a prodigy who wrote WH in her teens, insisted on WH being her debut despite EMI’s disapproval, and spent an early advance from the label on interpretative dance lessons (a sound investment).

Interestingly, I also happened to go an unexpectedly odd dance class (my first) last Friday – not intentionally, I was duped by a friend who proclaimed it to be commercial jazz/hip hop, who then wet herself laughing as I tried to do peculiar arm flaps in double time.

In retrospect, it was meant to be.

I plan to recreate Kate’s iconic Wuthering Heights music video, as a tribute to her awesomeness.

And it looks like I’m not alone!! By a mere 2 months, I have missed this:

The Ultimate Kate Bush Experience!!! Amazing. I could have been there, with all ma’ Kate Bush hommies, swishing my arms on the Brighton moors. Gutted.

As it is, I will have to make do with Clapham Common.

  • I have a cameraman – a friend has agreed to shoot the action and even suggested a smoke machine (wow!)
  • I have a dress – but it lacks sleeves, important for billowing. Maybe I could contact one of the 300 assassins…
  • I have the dance training (well, my 1 baffling lesson) – but learning Kate’s moves might be tough

This comes after some talk of busking, and some intense work on learning Kate’s piercing battle cry (ideal street entertainment no?).

Apparently Lambeth and Greenwich do not require a license for buskers…

5 thoughts on “Inspired by a general air of mad genius: Kate Bush

    • Thanks Pete! I’m 27 and only recently discovered her (unfortunately I’ve always been on the back foot when it comes to music, definitely need to work on being cooler). But YES I completely agree about those 2 tracks, they’re brilliant!! Army dreamers, love her voice in this. (You’ve inspired me, I’m putting her on top volume!) I would have loved to see her live, although Wikipedia said she only ever did 1 live tour!

      • I phoned my mate Kate and asked her if she is ever going to tour again and she told me that, she enjoyed touring Blackpool and Preston, took a heap of photos, but enough of my mate Kate Smith. As for Kate Bush, she has released a new album and says that she may think of touring later. He new album Director’s Cut, is very good and she has worked in her back catalogue. 🙂

      • 🙂 Your way of writing feels very familiar – you almost sound a bit like a friend of mine does. We use Instant Messenger at work a lot, and you starting thinking of people as 2 version: the Written Person and the one you talk to face to face when it’s getting ridiculous and you just get up and walk across the room. The 2 personas are often quite different.

      • I was going to sleep then saw your other email….you sneaked up =) I type as if I was speaking, I am very relaxed while writing, in real life I am very shy and the net has been helpful, but when I work with the kids I am not shy either lol, yes I am strange lol ok its now its now 02.39am sleep time 😀

Leave a Reply

